MALAYBALAY CITY – On December 28, 2023, the Kaamulan Open Theatre witnessed the grandeur of the most anticipated event in Malaybalay, where 15 equally stunning and remarkable women vied for the prestigious title of Miss Malaybalay 2023. The competition encompassed four categories: the production number, where candidates showcased their dance routine titled “SAKA ta Malaybalay” – the city’s phenomenal promotional theme song, swimwear, preliminary Q and A (held earlier in the morning), and evening gown.

At the conclusion of the event, Ms. Genirose Calambro, a Master of Business Administration student at Bukidnon State University from Barangay San Martin, emerged victorious. Ms. Calambro not only secured the Miss Malaybalay 2023 title but also garnered several special awards, including Best in Swimsuit, Best in Gown, Pretty Fresh Choice Award, Avail Beauty Philippine Choice Award, and Miss El Clinica Dental.

The first runner-up (Miss Malaybalay – Agri Eco Tourism 2023), Ms. Krissha Nely C. Tago from Barangay San Jose, clinched the Ms. Luxrynph02, Ms. Gemma’s Choice Award, Ms. Congeniality, and Best in Production Number.

Other members of the winning circle were Ms. Christine Roselle Angela G. Torres of Barangay 05 – 2nd Runner Up (Miss Malaybalay – Kultura 2023), Ms. Apple Mae Lucero of Barangay 11 – 3rd Runner Up (Miss Malaybalay – Sports Tourism 2023), and Ms. Liz Leanna M. Lapuz of Barangay 02 – 4th Runner Up (Miss Malaybalay – Adventure Tourism 2023).

Other finalists of the pageant included Ma. Sheinah M. Salvo – Patpat, Deejay Claire L. Jabayjabay – Can-ayan, Ms. Trixie Lapar of Barangay 07, who also received the Darling of the Press and Miss Photogenic Awards, Reizel Jean Gorre of St. Peter, Necolle S. Sario of Kalasungay, Aryhen Mae D. Ranoa of Laguitas, Maria Michaela R. Boral of Barangay 09, Aya Katrice D. Genosa of Sinanglanan, Erica Jhude P. Sulatan of Casisang, and Kheena April C. Litanon of Sumpong.

The glittering night was graced by the presence of the country’s most sought-after personalities in pageantry, including Ms. Michelle Arceo – Reina Hispanoamericana Filipinas 2023, Jan Mendajar – World-renowned pageant and runway coach, Mr. Norman Tinio – Pageant Blogger, Dr. Erwin John Elmido – Dentist of the Stars, and Mr. Francis Chee – Creative Director of Miss World Philippines. The event was hosted by Cagayan de Oro’s renowned hosts, Ms. Christer Kim and Elton Ladd.

City Mayor Jay Warren R. Pabillaran, in his speech, emphasized that competitions like this provide a platform for young women in Malaybalay to showcase their beauty, talent, and causes.

Ms. Calambro, as the newly crowned Miss Malaybalay 2023, is set to have an exciting year ahead, participating in various programs and activities of the city and representing the city in Miss World Philippines later this year.

The event’s success was made possible through the efforts of the Technical Working Group, headed by City Administrator Atty. Anna Marie R. Bergado, with members including City Councilors Hon. Kathleen Cecile C. Pagaling and Hon. Royland M. Orquia, Ms. Honolu Marie C. Cruzin – Supervising Tourism Operations Officer, Dr. Dennis P. Sangalang – City Health Officer, Mr. Carlito R. Juarez – City Accountant, Ms. Dioscora R. Niere – CGSO Designate, Ms. Ma. Anita L. Fernandez – City ENRO, Mr. Romeo R. Lapeciros -CCEDM Officer Designate, and Mr. Alan J. Comiso – CDRRM Officer. The City Government of Malaybalay, headed by Mayor Pabillaran, played a crucial role in the event’s success.

The event was brilliantly staged and choreographed by Ms. B Productions, led by Ms. Beatrize Eduave.

Contributor: Marven Jan A. Nadela, City Tourism-NADA