The City Government of Malaybalay conducted a program for the annual charter day celebration on March 22, 2022. The annual observance is pursuant to Republic Act 8490 dated February 1998 as cited for the cityhood of Malaybalay over two decades ago.

Now on its 24th year bearing the theme, “Together, we move forward (2gether, we move 4ward),” the event started with a motorcade from two starting points at Barangays Dalwangan and Aglayan until it reached the venue simultenously for the program to start, early Tuesday at the Kaamulan Folk Arts Theatre.

Due to the Covid-19 public health protocol, the event was limited in capacity for the attendees. However it was broadcast live through the city official FB Page “City Government of Malaybalay.”

Keynote speaker Rev. Msgr. Noel P. Pedregosa in his message stressed, “As we truly move from several setbacks that challenged us as a city, we are now celebrating, remembering, slowly and steadily rising from the darkness. We do not just move forward but also upward towards God and to a brighter future.”

Positions are not entitlements, not a privilege but positions of humility and service for the people, he added.

City Mayor Jay Warren Pabillaran led the celebration along with the presence of City Officials headed by Vice Mayor Estelito Marabe. Department and Division Heads, select City employees, Barangay Officials as well as men and women in uniform also took part in the celebration.

Numerous achievements and important milestones of the City were honored and remembered during the time of previous mayors until the present administration.

Noteworthy to honor our leaders who made a difference in public service, former Mayor Nicolas C. Jurolan (1998-2001), the late Mayor Florencio T. Flores, Jr. (2001-2010;2019-2022), former Mayor Ignacio W. Zubiri (2010-2019), and incumbent Mayor Jay Warren R. Pabillaran.