May be an image of 15 people and text
The remarkable achievements of Malaybalay City’s barangays were recently acknowledged and celebrated as the City government recognized the recipients of the “Galing Barangay” awards.
The awarding ceremony took place during the 146th Aldaw Ta Malaybalay program on June 15, 2023, as a testament to the outstanding performance of the barangays in the evaluation conducted under the Galing Barangay or GABAY program.
City Local Government Operations Officer, Amalia A. Propia, together with City Awards Committee Chairperson, City Administrator Anna Marie R. Bergado, presented the esteemed awards at the Folk Arts Theater, Kaamulan grounds in Malaybalay City.
The winners in the Gabay Awards Category A were as follows:
1st Place: Barangay Kalasungay, under the leadership of Hon. Rodrigo O. Niere.
2nd Place: Barangay San Jose, under the leadership of Hon. Bebina M. Kee.
3rd Place: Barangay Aglayan, under the leadership of Hon. Glorio D. Sajulga.
4th Place: Barangay Casisang, under the leadership of Hon. Boniacio G. Valiente.
5th Place: Barangay Poblacion 10, under the leadership of Hon. Nilo Q. Salga.
In the Gabay Awards Category B, the winners were:
1st Place: Barangay Poblacion 3, led by Hon. Lyzander Cedric D. Maandig.
2nd Place: Barangay Poblacion 8, led by Hon. Julius N. Manghano.
3rd Place: Barangay Poblacion 2, led by Hon. Conception L. Palo.
4th Place: Barangay Kulaman, led by Hon. Jenny S. Subang.
5th Place: Barangay Poblacion 4, led by Hon. Crispin G. Pepito.
Additionally, special awards were given to recognize exceptional achievements in various categories. The recipients of these special awards were as follows:
Most Functional Barangay Peace and Order Council (BPOC): Barangay Cabangahan.
Most Functional Barangay Anti-Drug Abuse Council (BADAC): Barangay Aglayan.
Most Functional Barangay Violence Against Women and Children (VAWC) Desk: Barangay Casisang.
Most Functional Barangay Council for the Protection of Children (BCPC): Barangay Kalasungay.
Most Functional Barangay Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (BDRRMC): Barangay Kalasungay.
Good Financial Housekeeping: Barangay 3.
Individuals who demonstrated outstanding performance in their respective roles were also recognized:
Best Performing Secretary: Marivic S. Rulloda from Barangay 3.
Best Performing Treasurer: Alma L. Gayon from Barangay Kalasungay.
These awards serve as a testament to the dedication and hard work exhibited by both the barangay officials, sectoral groups, volunteers and support of the constituents in contributing to the progress and development of Malaybalay City.
This also aims to inspire and motivate other barangays to strive for excellence and continue their efforts in making positive impacts on their respective communities.