The SGLG conducted their annual assessment of the City Government of Malaybalay on April 20, 2022. This is in line with Republic Act 11292 which institutionalized the Seal of Good Local Governance for LGUs, and this has since served as a barometer of performance and incentive system.

DILG provincial director (Camiguin) Rhona Abadilla led the regional assessment team. The members of the RAT included Cyrus Aguinot (LGOO IV, Camiguin), and BukSU local research institute partners Amber Paguray and Lalevie Lubos, Ph.D.

The DILG assists the SGLG in monitoring the compliance of the City Government in specified governance areas, namely, (1) fiscal/financial administration and sustainability, (2) disaster preparedness, (3) social protection and sensitivity program, (4) health compliance and responsiveness, (5) programs for sustainable education, (6) business-friendliness and competitiveness, (7) safety, peace and order, (😎 environmental management, (9) tourism, heritage development, culture and the arts, and (10) youth development.

Mayor Jay Warren R. Pabillaran welcomed the team during the opening program held at the Veranda in Brgy. Casisang. In his message, he emphasized the importance of all officials and employees focusing on their duties and responsibilities, such that even when evaluations are conducted periodically, they are able to deliver what they have sworn when they were appointed to their positions.

After the opening program, the RAT proceeded to inspect documents submitted by the groups assigned to the ten areas of governance, and conducted on-site validation in various offices. In the exit conference, the RAT reported the results of their documents review, interviews and ocular visits. The City Government was also informed of which areas they need to improve, and of the deadlines set for additional documents to be submitted or amended.

Acting City Administrator Atty. Anna Marie Bergado chairs the City’s SGLG Committee, and Acting Asst. City Administrator Ruzanne Belisario is the vice chairperson. Members of the committee are Aldrich C. Alaan (CLGOO), Atty. Julius Michael Barroso (City Legal Officer) Arlene A. Ho (City Budget Officer), Hon. Bonifacio Valiente (LIGA President), Hon. Dave Julian Balore (SK Federation President), Maria Anita L. Fernandez (CENR Officer), Dr. Dennis P. Sangalang (CHO), Atty. Phoebe Corazon C. Hidalgo (SP Secretary), Victoria V. Gazo (CSDS – DepEd), PLtCol Ritchie A. Salva (PNP), Ivy Amor C. Urbina (OIC – CSWDO), Engr. Leo Rustan dela Cerna (Acting City Engineer), Engr. Adrian R. Gamboa (CPDC), Carlito R. Juarez (City Accountant), Magnolia O. Improgo (CHRMO), Arturo C. Callao (BPL Officer), Rosie T. Dumas (City Treasurer), Alan J. Comiso (Acting CDRRMO), Dexter Maxileo P. Gamo (LYDO), Romeo T. Lapiceros Jr. (OIC – CEEDMO), and Honolu C. Cruzin (STOO).